Navigating Law School Without a Car

29 04 2010

is often harrowing and I would advise against it if you can help it.

While lugging 5-6 bags of groceries on the bus isn’t terribly hard, the hard part comes when all the seats fill up (as they usually do).  I like to have space to spread out a tad, put on my iPod, and ignore the interesting characters that use public transportation.

I think the worst part of public transportation is that unless your destination is on the main route, you have to time things just right or be forced to sit and cool your heels for 30-45 minutes.  This obviously isn’t an issue with destinations easily reachable by bicycle or foot, but say I want to go to Target.  There’s a Target out by one of the shopping malls, and the main route goes right to the mall.  Seems easy enough, right?

The problem here is that I have to cross over a somewhat busy road to get to Target.  If a bus goes over there, I’ve never seen it, and I always end up getting to the mall when that other bus is inactive for about 2 hours.  I almost feel like a homeless person trekking my way through the mall, across the grass, over the road, and across the huge parking lot just to get there.

One upshot is the trolley that goes to the next town over at nights.  If I want to go over there as opposed to the limited fare downtown, it’s the same price, and runs a lot later.

Obviously, using public transportation is cheaper in the long run compared to the costs of car insurance, gas, maintenance, etc., but it does not afford you the ability to randomly go someplace with only a moment’s notice.  Public transportation requires you to basically take an hour or so out of your day to account for actually getting to wherever you’re going.  This isn’t much of a problem when I’m here over break, but once school starts next week, that’s valuable time I could be using to study (because trying to study on the bus often becomes a futile effort, trust me).

Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2010
Danielle

You sooo need what my husband and I deem a “city cart.” When we lived in Chicago, we had 2, and used them alllll the time for groceries & laundry–since we did have one car, but tried not to move it if we could help it. (due to limited parking. and even when we took the car to the store, we’d have to park it 3 blocks away so we’d need some way to get the groceries to the apartment from the car). However, I have a feeling that lugging one of those carts around your area may indeed make you look like a homeless person. I’ll just point in laugh if I drive by you lugging your bags down the street. 🙂

Leave a Reply

